“A year from now, we’ll all be gone.”

One of my favorite songs begins with the lyrics, “A year from now we’ll all be gone, all our friends will move away, and they’re goin’ to better places, but our friends will be gone away.”

And as I sat by my window with my cat at one in the morning it finally hit me that everything is different.

A few months ago I tweeted, “It’s that drive in the rain with the same music that suddenly means something completely different and it all feels okay again.” And tonight I realized that it’s watching the rain in silence and realizing that everything is completely different, including yourself, and that, despite everything the world has thrown at you over the course of your lifetime, you are okay and the future is looking brighter than it ever has.

Over the past twelve months I have been on a roller coaster and it has been insane to say the least. But it’s also been amazing, and nearly every ounce of it was worth the trouble it did or didn’t cause. I have some of the most amazing friends I’ve ever had and, sure, I may have had my heart broken quite a few times over the past year, but I have only found, time and time again, that my pain and struggles do not define me. I am an unsinkable ship weathering the storms of life, we all are.

No one leaves this world in the same condition as they came into it. It’s our job to make sure that the battles being fought along the way are all worth it. That despite the bruising, and the hurt, and the pain, at the end of the day, we still feel the sun on our faces and the joy in our hearts, even if it’s just the slightest bit, it exists.

Humans are entire galaxies constantly collapsing and rebuilding themselves to create a forever changing and growing being. The souls who enter and leave our lives are those who make up the stars in our universe, those who enter and choose not to leave are the ones who make up the planets in our solar systems. And above everything, we are the ones who keep the solar system from turning on its head. 

I hope everyone finds this peace within themselves at some point, regardless of if it lasts or not, it offers more hope than any other feeling in existence, and once it begins it won’t stop spreading until everyday is a gift and we are truly whole.

To the moon and back,
Maggie

Leave a Reply

